Skip to main content

Guidelines of Distinguished Female Chemical Engineer Award of Taiwan Institute of Chemical Engineers

The sixth meeting of the 60th session on March 20, 2020
Amended and approved by the joint meeting of directors and supervisors

Article 1  Purpose
Taiwan Institute of Chemical Engineers (hereinafter referred to as TwIChE) has established the “Distinguished Female Chemical Engineer Award” (hereinafter referred to as this award) in order to commend outstanding female chemical engineers for their dedication to the prosperity of chemical engineering. Domestic award winner will be granted a prize of NT$60,000, while international award winner will be granted US$2,000.

Article 2  Eligibility
Female members of TwIChE or international organizations that have signed MOUs with TwIChE, with excellent performance in education, academic research, technical practice, or service in the field of chemical engineering are eligible to apply.

Article 3  Recommendation 
Domestic candidates shall be recommended by directors, supervisors, group members or three or more regular members of TwIChE, while international candidates shall be recommended by international institutions that have signed MOUs with TwIChE. Domestic and international candidates shall take turns for recommendation each year.

Article 4  Review Procedures
After review by the Medal Committee of TwIChE, one candidate will be recommended to the board of directors for approval. If there is no candidate for the current session, or the proposal is not approved by the Medal Committee, or the board of directors fails to approve the Medal Committee's proposal, the award will be suspended for the current session.

Article 5  Award
This award will be presented at the annual meeting of TwIChE.

Article 6  Promulgation-1
Other related matters shall be handled in accordance with the guidelines offered by the Medal Committee of TwIChE.

Article 7  Promulgation-2
Guidelines will be implemented after the board of directors’ approval, and the same will follow with related amendments.





Yoshiko TSUJI

(Professor, The University of Tokyo, Japan)




Naomi Shibasaki-Kitakawa

(Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan)


Yun Jeong Hwang

(Associate Professor, Chemistry Department, Seoul National University, Seoul)